Charlie Puth Threatened to Pull 'SYA' From 'Furious 7' if...

97 posts in this topic

Charlie Puth Threatened to Pull 'See You Again' From 'Furious 7' If He Wasn't Included in the Music Video

Charlie-Puth-press-2017-cr-Catie-Laffoon

When Wiz Khalifa's "See You Again" music video featuring Charlie Puth dethroned PSY's "Gangham Style" as YouTube's most-watched video with nearly 3 billion views on Monday, it did so without having been a viral phenomenon, riding instead on emotional power and the influence of the Fast and Furious film franchise. But for Puth, who co-wrote the Furious 7-closing ballad with DJ Frank E and Khalifa, what's most amazing of all is that he was even featured in the video in the first place. 

"I don't know if a lot of people know this, I wasn't supposed to be in the video," Puth tells Billboard. "I wasn't supposed to be on the song; I was only supposed to be a writer on the song. I was a brand new artist, I wasn't cool enough to be part of the franchise yet, I wasn't big enough, but I proved everybody who was close-minded wrong. Everyone on my record label stuck beside me and my management.

"I'll never forget I ended up calling them from around this big conference table on the phone, and they were explaining the reasons why it was going to be sung by this artist and blah, blah blah, I'm not going to name any names, but... I said, 'That's great. Your movie comes out in a week and I'm not gonna give you the song.' And I hung up the phone and when I said that miraculously I was in the music video."

Though Puth would not state to Billboard what artist Universal Pictures had originally wanted to sing "See You Again," earlier this year he told People his vocals on the hook had originally been recorded as a reference possibly for Sam Smith. Mike Knobloch, president of film music and publishing at Universal Pictures, denies Smith was ever discussed for the track.