Frequently asked questions... Read more... ×

Reconnecting w/ a friend you ghosted

19 posts in this topic

How would you handle reconnecting with a former close friend that you basically ghosted for many months and whose relationship with just seemed to fall through? Can you still be able to rekindle that friendship after a long period of no communication?

katy_perry_american_idol_proposal_1280.jpg

Posted (edited)

Honestly, it's never happened, at least not successfully. I started talking to a really close childhood friend a few years ago that I stopped talking to after we left high school and it was just extremely awkward and forced. Every other friend that I've lost has remained in the past.

i've ghosted a lot of people so i've had a lot of experience with this lmao

rekindle? that's difficult because you both have to make the effort, and if you ghosted then a lot of people won't be willing to do that

in one particular instance i felt really bad for ghosting this one friend and i contemplated writing a letter but ultimately just showed up at his door one night and asked to talk :rip: he heard me out and there were no hard feelings but we never really became friends again. i see him around sometimes and we have friendly chats but that's about it

I've had to do this recently. Genuinely apologize and reiterate that you value their friendship (otherwise, if you don't feel this way then don't reach out lol). Let them talk about what they've been up to and ask active questions; don't try to push the focus on yourself and what you've been up to but let them know briefly if something had kept you from responding earlier

never had to do this but i'd really like a friend who ghosted me to reconnect

katy_perry_american_idol_proposal_1280.j